Sustainable Development Advisory Council

govtofcanada logo 400

March 30, 2021

The Sustainable Development Advisory Council (the Council) is established under the Federal Sustainable Development Act and is responsible for reviewing and commenting on drafts of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy, as well as providing advice on any matter of sustainable development referred to it by the Minister of Environment and Climate Change.

The Council is made up of members of the Canadian public that represent the views of different provinces and territories, Indigenous peoples, as well as environmental non-governmental organizations and business and labour organizations.


Council members list

Individuals representing provinces and territories

  • Maggie Burton, Councilor at Large for the City of St. John’s (Newfoundland and Labrador)
  • Paul Gruner, President and CEO, Det’on Cho Management LP (Northwest Territories)
  • Mark Jaccard, Distinguished Professor and Director, School of Resource and Environmental Management, Simon Fraser University (British Columbia)
  • Hélène Lauzon, President and CEO, Québec Business Council on the Environment (Québec)
  • Ed Ma Q.C., Senior Strategy Advisor, Energy and Climate Change Policy, Suncor Energy Inc. (Alberta)
  • Domenic Di Mondo, Vice-President, Technology and Development, GreenMantra (Ontario)
  • Tanis Ostermann, Owner and Principal, CanSustain (Manitoba)
  • Forest Pearson, Geological Engineer (Yukon)
  • Heather Shilton, Manager, Clean Energy Development at Nunavut Nukkiksautiit Corporation (Nunavut)
  • Marion Tétégan Simon, Research Director, Valorēs (The Coastal Zones Research Institute) (New Brunswick)
  • Scott Skinner, President and CEO, Clean Foundation (Nova Scotia)
  • Jennifer Wagner, President, CarbonCure Technologies (Prince Edward Island)
  • Taylor-Anne Yee, Lawyer, Stockdale Law; Founder and President of the Saskatchewan Association for Environmental Law (Saskatchewan)

Indigenous Peoples

  • Geneva Kejick, Climate Specialist, Territorial Planning Unit, Grand Council Treaty #3 in Kenora, Ontario
  • James Kuptana, Manager, Environment and Wildlife, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK)
  • Dakota Norris, Programs Manager, Youth Climate Lab
  • Micheal Ross, General Director, First Nations of Québec and Labrador Sustainable Development Institute (FNQLSDI)
  • Kim Scott, Founder and Principal Investigator, Kishk Anaquot Health Research (KAHR)

Environmental non-governmental organizations

  • Megan Meaney, Executive Director, Canada Office, ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability, formerly known as the International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives
  • Chúk Odenigbo, Founding Director and Director of Ancestral Services, Future Ancestors Services; Co-founder, The Poison and The Apple
  • Joanna Osawe, President and CEO, Women in Renewable Energy (WiRE)

Business organizations

  • Michael Brooks, CEO, REALPAC
  • Frances Edmonds, Head of Sustainable Impact, HP Canada
  • Alyson Slater, Senior Director, Sustainable Finance, Global Risk Institute in Financial Services (GRI)

Labour organizations

  • John Cartwright, President, Toronto & York Region Labour Council
  • Charles Fleury, National Secretary-Treasurer, Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE)
  • Patrick Rondeau, Environment and Just Transition Advisor, Fédération des travailleurs et des travailleuses du Québec (FTQ)


Related Articles

Changing Scene

  • Schneider Electric Appoints Jim Kalogiros as New Leader to Steer Canada’s Secure Power Business

    Schneider Electric Appoints Jim Kalogiros as New Leader to Steer Canada’s Secure Power Business

    Recently, Schneider Electric was pleased to announce the appointment of Jim Kalogiros as Vice President, Secure Power in Canada. Jim has over 18 years of experience at Schneider Electric, primarily in the data centre realm, holding various positions in sales, contractor partnerships and business development. Read More…

  • Bartle & Gibson Announces 3 Milwaukee Tool Zones

    Bartle & Gibson Announces 3 Milwaukee Tool Zones

    Bartle & Gibson Co. Ltd., a Western Canada-based premier plumbing, heating and electrical distributor, proudly announced Friday, January 27th, 2023, three Milwaukee Tool Zones. The Zones include two Milwaukee Tool Red Zones, one at their Calgary North location and one at their Port Coquitlam location, and one Milwaukee Tool Lighting Zone at their Edmonton North location. Read More…

Peers & Profiles

  • Schneider Electric, a leader in the digital transformation of energy management and automation, is Canada’s top international corporate citizen in 2022. This designation was awarded to Schneider Electric by Corporate Knights, a media and research company committed to advancing a sustainable economy. Read More…

  • The Sonepar Ontario Region is proud to announce the relocation of their SESCO Central Distribution Centre (CDC) to its new location in Brampton, ON. This move has facilitated an amalgamation between Texcan’s large Brampton branch and SESCO’s CDC, as both businesses work together within one facility for the first time. Read More…